ballysax stakes

Ballysax Stakes Derby Trial

This race is as much a Trial for the Irish Derby as it is the Epsom version, but nonetheless it has produced winners of both. Indeed Fame And Glory, so often found wanting against Sea The Stars in 2009, won this race in 2009 and went on to finish second in the Epsom Derby before winning the Irish alternative.

The race is a Group 3, ran over 10 furlongs at Leopardstown in April each year and has been dominated over the last few years by horses from the leading Irish trainers. Aidan O'Brien for instance has won this race six times from the last eleven renewals. Recent winners who have gone on to win at Epsom are High Chaparral in 2002 and Galileo in 2001.

Get the odds for the 2017 Epsom Derby.

2017 Ballysax Stakes Odds

Odds will appear here when available...

2016 Ballysax Stakes Result

10th April 2015 - Leopardstown - Ballysax Stakes - Group 3 - 1m2f

13Harzand 2/143129P J SmullenD Weld
24Idaho 8/113129C O'DonoghueA O'Brien
31Beacon Rock 8/173129J A HeffernanA O'Brien
42Cook Islands 5/223129R L MooreA O'Brien
55Moonlight Magic 3/153129K J ManningJ Bolger
67Theodorico 25/163129R P WhelanJ Bolger
76Play The Game 50/133129S FoleyJ McConnell

Harzand was an impressive winner of the Leopardstown's Ballysax Stakes, which can often throw up a leading Epsom Derby contender, as the Dermot Weld-trained colt outclassed the Aidan O'Brien-trained Idaho in an eye-catching success.

Check the results in full at each of our special Derby trial pages:

Feilden Stakes | Craven Stakes | Bet365 Classic Trial | 2000 Guineas | Chester Vase | Dee Stakes | Derrinstown Stud Derby Trial | LIngfield Derby Trial | Dante Stakes

Golf Player
Free Bets