Lester Piggott past Derby Winner

Past Derby Winners

The Derby was first run in 1780 when it was won by a horse called Diomed who would become the first of many legends to triumph in this great race. Some of the great winners to name just a few include Najinsky in 1970 and the great Shergar in 1981.

For Free Bets on The Derby Click Right Here

The legendary Lester Piggott won The Derbyon no less than nine occasions with the first being in 1954 and the last being an incredible 29 years later in 1983 on-board Teenoso. The highlight of these wins may just be that performance when he rode Najinsky to victory in 1970. Another great moment in Derby history came in 2007 when modern day great Frankie Dettori won his first Derby in fifteen attempts when he rode Authorized to victory.

Have a free bet on the Epsom Derby.

Recent Derby Winners

Here is a list of the most recent Derby winners which shows some great winners including Galileo in 2001. We will be adding a new name to this illustrious list in 2020 with several horses queueing up to join the hall of fame.

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Odds
2019 Anthony Van Dyck Seamie Heffernan Aidan O'Brien 13/2
2018 Masar William Buick Charlie Appleby 16/1
2017 Wings Of Eagles Paddy Beggy Aidan O'Brien 40/1
2016 Harzand Pat Smullen John Oxx 13/2
2015 Golden Horn Frankie Dettori John Gosden 13/8 Fav
2014 Australia Joseph O'Brien Aidan O'Brien 11/8 Fav
2013 Ruler Of The World Ryan Moore Aidan O'Brien 7/1
2012 Camelot Joseph O'Brien Aidan O'Brien 8/13 Fav
2011 Pour Moi Mickael Barzalona Andre Fabre 4/1
2010 Workforce Ryan Moore M Stoute 6/1
2009 Sea The Stars Mick Kinane John Oxx 11/4
2008 New Approach Johnny Murtagh Jim Bolger 5/1
2007 Authorized Frankie Dettori Peter Chapple-Hyam 5/4 Fav
2006 Sir Percy Martin Dwyer Marcus Tregoning 6/1
2005 Motivator Johnny Murtagh Michael Bell 3/1 Fav
2004 North Light Kieron Fallon Sir Michael Stoute 7/2 JF
2003 Kris Kin Kieron Fallon Sir Michael Stoute 6/1
2002 High Chaparral Johnny Murtagh Aidan O'Brien 7/2
2001 Galileo Mick Kinane Aidan O'Brien 11/4 JF
2000 Sindaar Johnny Murtagh John Oxx 7/1
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.
Bet £20 & Get £20
Exclusive Promo Code
Select 'Use a promo code' in the drop-down list in the Cashier and enter SPORTS20. Deposit £20 or more. An extra £20 will be credited immediately. The deposit and bonus must be wagered 1x onSports at 1/2 (1.5) odds or higher. General bonus terms apply. This offer expires 31 May 23:59. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It