John Oxx

Top Epsom Derby Trainers

Featured below is a list of recent trainers to win the Epsom Derby. Sir Micahel Stoute and Aiden O'Brien have both saddled three winners of the race since 1990.

We've also listed the records of the top five trainers at Epsom racecourse generally. The statistics include a winners to rides ratio and the percentage return of a £1 pound stake.

Have a free bet on the 2018 Epsom Derby.

Epsom Downs Top Trainers Statistics

Over the last five seasons, the following trainers have performed the best at Epsom.

Trainer Wins-Rides % Return
Richard Hannon Snr 19-94 20% -13.94
Andrew Balding 16-110 15% -15.09
Mark Johnston 13-134 10% -61.75
Mick Channon 11-82 13% -1.30
Richard Fahey 10-65 15% +9.50

Check the statistics for the leading Epsom jockeys.

Epsom Derby Winning Trainers

Here is a list of the Derby winning trainers from the last twenty years.

Year Winner Trainers
2018 Masar Charlie Appleby
2017 Wings Of Eagles Aidan O'Brien
2016 Harzand John Oxx
2015 Golden Horn John Gosden
2014 Australia Aidan O'Brien
2013 Ruler Of The World Aidan O'Brien
2012 Camelot Aidan O'Brien
2011 Pour Moi Andre Fabre
2010 Workforce Sir Michael Stoute
2009 Sea The Stars John Oxx
2008 New Approach Jim Bolger
2007 Authorized Peter Chapple-Hyam
2006 Sir Percy Marcus Tregoning
2005 Motivator Michael Bell
2004 North Light Sir Michael Stoute
2003 Kris Kin Sir Michael Stoute
2002 High Chaparral Aidan O'Brien
2001 Galileo Aidan O'Brien
2000 Sinndar John Oxx
1999 Oath Henry Cecil
1998 High Rise Luca Cumani
1997 Benny The Dip John Gosden
1996 Shaamit William Haggas
1995 Lamtarra Saeed Bin Suroor
1994 Eerhaab John Dunlop
1993 Commander In Chief Henry Cecil
1992 Dr Devious Peter Chapple-Hyam
1991 Generous Paul Coles
1990 Quest For Fame R Charlton

Check the results of the Derby Trials.